top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlayna Stephens

An Art Dump!


Hello, my people!

The long-promised art dump post has arrived. I created a lot this year and I'm so excited to share some of my favorite pieces! I saw some huge improvement in my skills, and my repertoire of techniques really expanded. A lot of these are from my little mix-media art journal, but I included some commissioned work and other things in here too. Enjoy!



So I'm actually starting this dump with things from March because most of the art from earlier in the year is included in this post. Here's a slightly messy hand painting that I'm actually pretty proud of- hands are hard! XD I kinda like leaving my extra pencil marks unerased when it's just my art journal.

This little doodle was inspired by a friend. Hi, friend. *waves*

My original character child, Jack, and some scribbled song lyrics that remind me of him.

I LOVE THIS ONE. Toothless is a cutie. :P

Pro tip: If you're wanting to draw a whole bunch of one shape, save yourself the headache and cut out a paper stencil first!

Okay I ALSO LOVE THIS ONE. It was a gift for a friend and my first acrylic painting of the year.

I used metallic paint on this goldfish so his scales are shiny, but it's hard to tell in a still photo.

More metallic paint!

Hehe, this was a commission for someone through Etsy.

I don't remember who this bookmark was for but I love how the gradient hills turned out!

Somehow, this is the only Marvel art I've ever made! The angles and internal glow of the Infinity Stones were a fun challenge to capture.

Okay, this one gets TWO photos. XD In June I randomly decided to try reusing an old canvas board to make a simple window painting. 15 hours and approximately 20,000 raindrops later... it wasn't so simple. :'D But I'm so happy with how it turned out and ended up selling it on Etsy for more than I would've thought it was worth! It makes my artist's heart happy to know that random strangers want my art hanging in their homes. :)


Here's a sweet little commission for someone's nursery.

Once when Emily was at my house we sat at my craft table in the basement and made artsy things in various mediums- I did this peacock. It's fun to have artist friends. ;) Also, our basement has terrible lighting for art pictures.

Another hand, just as difficult as the last one. XD

Hehe, a birthday card for my dad featuring our beloved lawnmower and all of its essential parts.

Once upon a time, I made up a whole story about who this cat was and where he was going.

If this looks familiar, it's because I painted it for my Thor post. :P I used a white crayon to draw the cracks before I painted over it- the easiest way to save those little white details!

A quick little sketch to put in a pen pal letter.

Here's a little Tangled-inspired gouache painting! Gouache is like a cross between watercolor and acrylic paint.

An eye made with random art supplies I found on the schoolroom table. XD

I think this was a concept sketch for a commission that didn't end up working out, and I'm tempted to go back and finish it!

Okay, the next few are lettering doodles in my ESV Scripture Journal of the book of Luke. Since August, my mom and brothers and I have been using these to do an in-depth study of Luke, and sometimes I like to practice lettering my favorite verses.







My cousin got married this fall, so I painted one of their engagement photos for her + her new husband as a wedding present. :)

One afternoon I felt like painting a trout. Don't ask why, I don't know, but it did turn out cool. I used watercolor for the base layer and then added details with a crayon.

A friend randomly asked me to paint her phone case, and now I want to paint one for myself too. XD

Annnd all the rest of these are commissions! These are all Christmas gifts I think, which makes me happy.

I love this one. XD

This one turned out nice too; the lighting is awful because it was after dark and I didn't have time to wait until morning.


The cylinders and boxes are fireworks ready to be shot off at a family vacation home.



Congratulations, you've reached the end of this endless post. XD I've made a few more art pieces recently that I'd love to share, but they'll have to wait until after Christmas. ;) Next year I'm hoping to try some new mediums, take better photos of my art, sell more originals on Etsy, and maybe paint more of my favorite movie/book characters! The options are limitless.


I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas celebrating our Savior! Remember that all forms of art and creativity can be used to glorify Him even if you don't think you're good enough. Being creative just reflects His creativity in making you. :)


Thanks for reading, dears!


-Alayna

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page