top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlayna Stephens

Dominican Republic Missions Trip

Hello readers, friends, and family!


I was planning to post this a little earlier but ran into some slight technical difficulties with a link. But everything's working fine now, and this is the previously alluded-to update post with some super exciting news: Over spring break this March, my mom and I are going on a church-organized missions trip to Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic!


When we first found out that this trip was going to happen, I immediately felt a tug from God that I needed to be part of it. After the first information meeting, I was ready to apply right then! I don't know all the details of how I'll specifically be serving, but I know that it's going to be an incredible experience no matter what's in store.


Students International has ministry sites all over the city of Jarabacoa, with a wide range of focuses. Our group will be split up for much of the time as we serve in settings that we have experience or interest in. My mom and I are hoping to be at the women's social work site, which is exciting because I've been considering social work a possible college major and career in the future. :) Additonally, the main missionary through whom we will be partnering with, Makayla Stone Czaplicki, was one of my small group leaders in middle school before she moved overseas, and through email updates and social media, I've gotten to see glimpses of how God has been using her over the past few years. I can't wait to experience a whole new culture, love on the people we encounter, and see God work in whatever way He chooses.


I can't do this alone, though. As well as all the prayers our team and I can get, I need to raise $1700 in donations by March 12th. Would you consider helping me? Every gift, big or small, is deeply appreciated. As a special gift, I will be painting a completely custom 8"x10" watercolor commission for anyone who donates $100 or more! I've painted landscapes, houses, pet portraits, nursery signs, the sky's the limit. ;) And for everyone who commits to praying for me and the rest of the team leading up to and during the trip (whether you gave money or not), I'll be sending a few email updates including a digital art piece perfect for printing out and hanging on a refrigerator as a little reminder of how much we appreciate your support.


To view and donate directly to my fundraising page, click here.

To let me know that you're committing to praying and/or to request an art commission, click here.


And finally, here are a few ways that you can pray for me personally and for the rest of the trip:


  • Pray that my passport would come in quickly and that all the pieces of flying internationally would come together smoothly

  • Pray that God would help our team bond and work well together for His glory

  • Pray that the Students International site and missionaries would be truly blessed by our week serving with them

  • Pray that God would calm any fears in my heart- this will be my first time leaving the country and my first time flying since I was a toddler!

  • Pray that God would use this experience to grow me in my relationship with Him and maybe find some direction for future life adventures

  • Pray that we might reflect His goodness and glory in all that we do :)


To everyone who is supporting me in this adventure (even by reading this whole blog post when it's different from what you normally see here!), thank you from the bottom of my heart. It truly means the world to me! Fill out the form above to receive periodic updates about the trip or get on the list for an art commission, I can't wait to start painting. :)


Para la gloria de Dios,


Alayna

153 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page